Bat Surveys

We started surveying for bats in 2022 when we found out that there does not appear to be anyone else carrying out regular surveys in our local area. We survey for an hour or two from sunset between March & October on dry evenings when the wind is not too strong and it is not too cold. In May and June we have also seen stag beetles flying and we often hear a tawny owl.

Wildlife in Ascot have a couple of bat detectors which help us find and identify the bats. 

Everyone is very welcome to join us to find out more about bat surveys and for a warm, dry, evening stroll around our area. Please email us at ascot.wildlife@gmail.com for more information. 

Dates for 2023:  Cancelled if it's raining or there are high winds.

8 to 9:30 pm Wednesday 19th April - cancelled - high winds

8:15 to 9:45 pm Wednesday 3rd May

8:45 to 10:15 pm Tuesday 16th May

9 to 10:30 pm Wednesday 31st May

9:15 to 10:45 pm Tuesday 13th June

9:15 to 10:45 pm Wednesday 5th July

9 to 10:30 pm Tuesday 18th July

8:30 to 10 pm Tuesday 8th August - cancelled - wet

8 to 9:30 pm Wednesday 23rd August

7:30 to 9 pm Tuesday 5th September

7 to  9 pm Friday 22nd September

Locations to be decided

More dates to be set for November - weather permitting